I am one now myself, a published author but even before this I was fascinated by the world of authors. To tell you the truth, though I was a voracious reader since childhood I had never ever met an author in person. In the flesh, so to say. I often wondered what their lives were like. For example, amongst many others:

  • ¬†Where did they get their inspiration to write from?
  • What fueled their writing? Where did they get story ideas from? How did they translate stray thoughts to full plots?
  • What was their schedule like? Was is a slog all day occupation like many others or did they have the luxury of writing as and when they felt like doing so?
  • Was this their full time occupation which brought bread to their tables or was it a passion they pursued in addition to their other responsibilities at their workplace or at home?

Like me, if you had questions to ask of authors, here’s a fascinating list of interviews ( courtesy : Online College) with 50 Famous Authors which you can read at leisure.

I hope to start a series of interviews with authors myself. What better way than to start with your city? The other day I was reflecting on the number of authors I knew from my own city of Bangalore. I came up with an impressive list:-

  • Anita Nair
  • Shashi Deshpande
  • K R Usha
  • Subroto Bagchi
  • Vikram Sampath
  • Abhijit Bhaduri
  • Shinie Antony
  • Preeti Shenoy
  • Sheila Kumar
  • Andaleeb Wajid

This is by no means complete and these names have come out a top of the mind recall. If I have missed you in this list, my apologies.

Wouldn’t you like to hear what these authors have to say about themselves and their writing? I hope¬† to interview them some day for this blog, so that I can share with you what they had to say.