I have written elsewhere about NaNoWriMo– the National Novel Writing Month- a competition in which you aim to write a novel of at least 50,000 words during the calendar month of November. I took part for the first time last year. By end November 2009, I achieved the objective and had hammered out a novel of 50,127 words.  I called it  “It Can’t Be You”.The best part of NaNoWriMo is that you are really competing with yourself- apart from the many thousands of others from all over the world. As is customary,I went on to build upon this starting block and eventually completed the novel’s first draft sometime in February 2010. This project became my “baby” and like healthy babies would, my novel grew too since November 2009 to eventually be in excess of 80,000 words!

I have thoroughly enjoyed the process of writing a novel. This includes thinking of and developing a plot, establishing characters and developing their personalities as the story goes on. You want your readers to feel  that they know these characters.I realized too that the beginning is as important as the end!

All in all a very exciting experience!

